New London Awards Winners

Sponsored by MADE expo
Tybalds Estate, New North Street looking towards Windmill and Springwater extensions - ©Avanti ArchitectsHayes Primary School - KilianO'Sullivan - ©Hayhurst & Co
A free NLA breakfast talk looking at the two Joint Overall Winners of the New London Awards 2013: Hayes Primary School and Tybalds Estate Regeneration.

The New London Awards recognise the very best in architecture, planning and development in the capital.

Hayes Primary School in Croydon designed by Hayhurst and Co for LB Croydon was awarded one of two prestigious ‘Overall Winner’ accolades: deemed by the judges a beacon of quality in a sector facing a tough period of political change. The win was particularly pertinent given latest analysis by London Councils showing that the shortfall of primary and secondary school places across the capital is set to rise sharply to more than 118,000 by 2016/7.

The regeneration of Tybalds Estate in Holborn by Avanti, Duggan Morris, Mae & Tibbalds Planning and Urban Design Ltd for LB Camden was judged a worthy winner of the unbuilt ‘Overall Winner’ prize. Judges praised the promise it shows in retrofitting an existing housing estate to provide new mixed-tenure housing and a keen understanding of the importance of public space through sustainable, sensitive and well thought-through additions.

Hilary Satchwell, Director, Tibbalds Planning and Urban Design

Lisa O'Hagan, Senior Development Manager, LB Camden

Alex Ely, Partner, Mae Architects

Adrian Miles, Associate, Avanti Architects

Nick Hayhurst, Director, Hayhurst and Co

Peter Murray, Chairman, NLA (Chair)

Speakers names confirmed at time of publication, but may be subject to change.